911 Grant Program

The 911 Grant Program provides grant funding to help 911 public safety answering points (PSAPs) support efforts to provide citizens with optimal 911 services.

The ICO is preparing to award grants for the implementation and operation of 911 services, E911 services, migration to an IP-enabled emergency network, and adoption and operation of Next Generation 911 services and applications. A total of $115 million has been set aside for the 911 Grant Program from the November 2014 Federal Communications Commission (FCC) AWS-3 spectrum auction, which generated approximately $44.8 billion in revenue.

See below for a brief overview of the grant process stages:

Stage 1: FCC conducts AWS-3 spectrum auction (Nov 2014 – Feb 2015)
Stage 2: Auction proceeds transferred to Public Safety Trust Fund (May 2016)
Stage 3: Public Safety Trust Fund transfers funds to 911 Grant Program (Sept 2016)
Stage 4: NHTSA & NTIA draft joint grant regulations (August 2017)
Stage 5: Public provides comments on draft regulations (Fall 2017)
  Stage 6: Final regulations are published and grant applications accepted (Early 2018)
  Stage 7: Grants are awarded (Early 2018)

Sign up to receive email updates as new information is available.

2009 Grant Program Implementation

In 2009, the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), acting through the Implementation Coordination Office (ICO), which is staffed by the NTIA and the National 911 Program, awarded more than $40 million in grants.

The grants, which were authorized by the ENHANCE 911 Act, were available for hardware, software, training or consulting services that directly benefit public safety answering points (PSAPs) in upgrading equipment and operations.

Grants were awarded to 30 states and territories in amounts ranging from $200,000 to $5.4 million. Learn more about the success of the previous grant program here.

NHTSA and NTIA are seeking comments on a notice of proposed rulemaking outlining implementing regulations for the 911 Grant Program. All members of the public, including the 911 community, are encouraged to provide written comments on the proposed rule. Comments must be received by November 5, 2017 at 5:00pm EST. All primary comments should include the docket number and be no longer than 15 pages. Comments may be submitted by any of the following methods:

  • • Federal eRulemaking Portal: Go to https://www.regulations.gov and perform a search for either the docket number (Docket No. 170420407-7407-01) or the title (911 Grant Program)

  • • Mail: National Telecommunications and Information Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce, Attn: NG911 Grant Program, 1401 Constitution Avenue NW, Room 4076, Washington, DC 20230

More Information

National 911 Program Enhanced 911 Grant Program Final Report

Additional Federal Funding Programs

Questions about National 911 Program administered grants can be sent to nhtsa.national911@dot.gov.